A fox in the hen house….


 

Lots of talk in Washington today concerning Senate Minority Leader McConnell’s proposal to allow President Obama to seek a debt limit increase, pending Congressional approval. The request could be approved or disapproved by resolution. The details, I’m not sure about. It sounds like just another tactic the Democrats could use to continue their out of control spending habits. If you think about it, all that would be required would be enough of the Republican majority voting for approval…whether that happens is questionable, grant you….combined with approval of the Democrat controlled Senate and we continue down our road to fiscal disaster.

Here’s what some of your honorable members of Congress are saying….

 

“What Leader McConnell has put on the table recognizes that we must pass” a debt increase…”… “So it has that merit in that it says what are we talking about here: We have to pass this. And let’s talk about the others things that are going on.” Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) in Roll Call

 

“I’ve been here long enough that I’ve seen a lot of smoke and mirrors, but I haven’t been here long enough to forget who I serve or where I come from,” ….“And again, all I can reiterate is that people across America are saying the spending is what has to be addressed — it’s too much, it’s got to be limited,” – Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-MN) at The Hill

 

“I just think that’s the fox in the hen house..” – Rep. Steve King (R-IA) in The Hill

 

 

 

“I am glad to hear that the Republican leader has come forward with a backstop proposal to address the debt limit. I am still studying it and discussing it with Senators. But I am heartened by what I read. This is a serious proposal. And I commend the Republican leader for coming forward,” …-Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) in Roll Call

 

“Republicans weren’t elected last November to make it easier to spend and borrow and add to our debt,” – Sen. Jim DeMint (R-SC) in The Hill

 

“Most people who got elected in 2010 didn’t come up here worried about the brand, they came up here worried about the country…You go explain to them why they’re wrong (when they) say that the country’s on an unsustainable path. I don’t think they are wrong”  -Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) in the Politico

 

I don’t know about everyone out there, but I’m with Congressman King on this one….there is a fox in the hen house…and his name is Barack Obama!

Leave a Reply

