Let’s Talk!


Sometimes I wonder what you boys would do if you weren't gay. You'd have no identity. It was easy when you couldn't talk about it. Now it's all you talk about. You talk about it so much that you forget about all the other things that you are.

“Sometimes I wonder what you boys would do if you weren’t gay. You’d have no identity. It was easy when you couldn’t talk about it. Now it’s all you talk about. You talk about it so much that you forget about all the other things that you are.”

This great line from Greg Berlanti’s 2000 film, “The Broken Hearts Club: A Romantic Comedy”, does an excellent job of summing up my feelings concerning the recent happenings on the national stage.

Gay marriage is indeed a landmark occurrence for this country. And it offers great opportunity for many gay Americans. Close personal friends have finally realized a dream they’ve had for decades now come true. And I couldn’t be happier for them.

Unfortunately, they tend to view so many aspects of life through the prism of being gay. I’ve never been one to subscribe to that. Therein lies my difficulty with the entire politicized, polarizing issue.

It could be said that those that took the gay marriage issue to the forefront of societal consciousness are pioneers. No argument there….But..what happens now?…

A recent news report quoted Andrew Sullivan, the author and writer commonly credited with the case for gay marriage, as saying gay men don’t seem to have much in common, other than being oppressed! I thought, “What an ignorant, idiotic thing to say!” Excuse ME, Mr. Sullivan! Many of us were leading productive, happy lives LONG before you took this matter into YOUR own hands! And we continue to do so! To think the common bond among gay men is OPPRESSION! That’s a cheap, condescending cop out that short sells millions of gay Americans who manage to create, live, love, and learn!

Andrew Sullivan

Andrew Sullivan

Believe it or not, many gay Americans live their lives much the same as everyone else. Careers, home, family… Likely, much to the chagrin of the politically obsessed in the gay community. They have championed the issue…much in the framework of “like it…or ELSE!” to their fellow countrymen. That doesn’t sit well with me. I don’t care who you are or the nature of the contentious point that’s attempting to be made. But…that being said…it’s where we are these days. Government has assumed the role of dictating thought AND deed. And that should frighten ALL of us!

I’m not ashamed of being gay. But, it’s not EVERYTHING I am! Mr. Sullivan, and those like him, would do well to understand that I don’t NEED them to speak for me! I can manage that on my own. I respect his efforts and ideals. However, I don’t appreciate being branded a traitor to the cause for simply living my OWN life!

Leave a Reply

